McLeansboro, IL (April 18, 2017) – Back in 2004 Clay Millican went to his first ever NHRA final round in Houston. What he did not know back then is that he would still be chasing that first NHRA event win in 2017.

This weekend at the NHRA SpringNationals, Millican and the Parts Plus/Great Clips/University of Northwestern Ohio Top Fuel team continue to pursue their goal of going to their first NHRA Winner’s Circle.

“In 2004 our team was having an incredible season. I remember rolling into Houston fresh off a win at an IHRA race. We faced Brandon Bernstein in what would turn out to be the first of three consecutive final round appearances at NHRA races,” recalled Millican. “We assumed with 50 wins under our belt that our first NHRA win wasn’t going to take long.”

That year Millican and his team only competed at 10 NHRA events but still finishing the season 14th in points. He would go on to win seven IHRA events and claim his fourth or six IHRA Championships.

“I never thought that 13 years later we would still be wondering when our first NHRA win would finally come to us,” said Millican. “Our team is doing a great job and working really hard. I am confident this is our year.”

Racing action at the NHRA SpringNationals gets underway at 4:30 p.m. CT Friday with the first qualifying session.

2017 NHRA SpringNationals Schedule (Central Time)
Friday, April 21
5:00 p.m. Nitro Qualifying Session 1
7:30 p.m. Nitro Qualifying Session 2

Saturday, April 22
2:00 p.m. Nitro Qualifying Session 3
4:30 p.m. Nitro Qualifying Session 4

Sunday, April 23
11:00 Nitro Eliminations begin

2017 NHRA SpringNationals TV Schedule (Eastern Time)
Friday, April 21 – 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 22 – 2:00 a.m.
Sunday, April 23 – 6:00 p.m.