Reading, PA (September 24, 2017) – For Clay Millican, earning points towards the NHRA Mello Yello Championship was a big priority this weekend at the Dodge NHRA Nationals. Millican and the Stringer Performance team are battling to win the NHRA Top Fuel Championship.

“We got points on the brain. We’re looking at the bonus points, the qualifying points; everything necessary to get ourselves moved up. We’re right on the heels of everyone. This points battle is tight,” said Millican.

Thanks to a qualifying run of 3.699 at 327.27 mph in the heat of the day on Friday, Millican earned 3 bonus points and put the Parts Plus/Great Clips/University of Northwestern Ohio dragster in the No. 1 qualifying spot. This is the fourth time this season that Millican earned the top qualifying spot.

Because only 15 drivers entered the race, Millican had a bye-run first round. While he did not have an opponent in the other lane, he laid down an impressive 3.705/328.62 run, which was low of the session and the day.

In Round two, he came up against Antron Brown. Brown had a slight starting line advantage and took the win: 3.778/311.49 to 4.003/231.60.

“It’s been an up and down day. It certainly started on a high note with a 3.70 on the first pass. That car was absolutely flying. We were low E.T. of first round,” Millican said. “Antron’s had my number, but we beat him last race. I thought we were off and running on this one. The car put a cylinder out and the engine hurt itself.”

Next for Millican is the AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals in St. Louis on September 29 – October 1. This is the home race for Stringer Performance, which is based out of McLeansboro, Illinois.

2017 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Point Standings

01 Steve Torrence 2259 0 Capco Racing/Torrence Motorsports
02 Doug Kalitta 2237 -22 Mac Tools Dragster
03 Brittany Force 2236 -23 Monster Energy Top Fuel Dragster
04 Antron Brown 2208 -51 Matco Tools Dragster
05 Tony Schumacher 2174 -85 U.S. Army Dragster
06 Clay Millican 2171 -88 Parts Plus/ Great Clips/ UNOH dragster
07 Leah Pritchett 2162 -97 Papa John’s Dragster
08 Terry McMillen 2083 -176 Amalie Motor Oil Dragster
09 Scott Palmer 2074 -185 Marck Industries/Tommy Thompson Motorsports
10 Shawn Langdon 2068 -191 Global Electronic Technology Dragster